Harmony & Spiritual Pasta

The theme for the Weekly Photo Challenge this week, is harmony.

In perfect holistic, spiritual & ecological effin' harmony with the universe...
In perfect holistic, spiritual & ecological effin’ harmony with the universe…

 “I lapsed into my pathetic cut-off period. Often with humans, both good and bad, my senses simply shut off, they get tired, I give up. I am polite. I nod. I pretend to understand because I don’t want anybody to be hurt. That is the one weakness that has lead me into the most trouble. Trying to be kind to others I often get my soul shredded into a kind of spiritual pasta.
No matter. My brain shuts off. I listen. I respond. And they are too dumb to know that I am not there.”

― Charles Bukowski, Hollywood

 

 

 

6 Comments

  1. I agree with Mara … but more creepy than hilarious.

    I like the quote, especially the sentence “Trying to be kind to others I often get my soul shredded into a kind of spiritual pasta”.
    It kind of reminds me of the expression (I’m paraphrasing) … stress is caused by the effort to not hurt someone who really deserves it

    1. Spiritual pasta is a brilliant phrase. I’ll start using it more often. It’s probably also possible to have it for dinner: sometimes when there’s not enough hours in the day to get everything done, you can simply dish up with some spiritual pasta.

Leave a Reply

