19th Century Cabinet Card Art

I don’t write a lot in this secondary blog of mine. Those of you who follow the blog, know that it’s mostly just single photo posts. I thought I’d start to write some stuff here too from time to time. But not too much, just a little bit writing. I’ve decided to follow Leanne and introduce you to artists that I like. First up is Colin Batty from Manchester, England.

He takes 19th century cabinet cards and turns them into original and surrealistic portraits. It’s done by hand – it’s not digital manipulation (as you all know I have nothing against digital manipulation). Colin has also worked on Tim Burton’s Mars Attacks.

You can buy his book at Amazon – a collection with 100 pieces, or you can check out more of his stuff online at peculiarium.com (that’s where I got the images from).

Resources:

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

